Abbeywood Community School

Attendance Guidance

At Olympus Academy Trust we are passionate about attendance because being in school regularly really does matter! 

Building habits of regular attendance ensures that your child enjoys all of the many benefits that school brings, such as, opportunities for learning and making progress, as well as wider personal development opportunities like enjoying different enrichment clubs and sports or creative clubs. 

Making connections everyday with other children and staff also builds belonging, which we believe is an essential component of a healthy, happy child. 

 

 

Where any parent or carer has concerns about their child’s attendance, we really want to hear from you so that we can work together to reduce absence from school. We know that for some children, returning to school and the routine of learning has been more difficult- please do not hesitate to get in touch with us. 

If you have any concerns about your child's attendance, please discuss these, in the first instance, with their tutor.

If you have additional concerns, these can be raised with the following key staff:

Year 7

Mr Doyle, Key Stage Lead - Seb.Doyle@olympustrust.co.uk

Mr Scott, Deputy Pastoral Manager & Head of Year - Alastair.Scott@olympustrust.co.uk 

Miss Wood, Head of Year - Naomi.Wood@olympustrust.co.uk 

Year 8

Miss Gilmore, Key Stage Lead - Sophie.Gilmore@olympustrust.co.uk 

Miss Bamford, Head of Year - Lisa.Bamford@olympustrust.co.uk  

Year 9 

Miss Gilmore, Key Stage Lead - Sophie.Gilmore@olympustrust.co.uk 

Miss Browning, Head of Year - Grace.Browning@olympustrust.co.uk 

Year 10

Mr Bendry, Key Stage Lead - Richard.Bendry@olympustrust.co.uk 

Mrs Fletcher, Head of Year - Claire.Fletcher@olympustrust.co.uk 

Year 11

Mr Bendry, Key Stage Lead - Richard.Bendry@olympustrust.co.uk

Ms Brazil, Head of Year - Adela.Brazil@olympustrust.co.uk 

Year 12 and Year 13

Mrs Shafto, Director of Post 16 - Gemma.Shafto@olympustrust.co.uk 

In our continued drive to improve school attendance and reduce the impact of lost learning we are now unable to authorise absence during the school day for medical appointments, please book these after the end of the school day.

Your support with this is very much appreciated and will help us to ensure that students do not miss lessons and are able to keep up with their learning. If parents need any support with this or have any questions please contact the school so that we can help.