Abbeywood School

Abbey Wood School

The Olympus Academy Trust is committed to delivering an outstanding education for young people, ensuring that our students have access to the highest standards of teaching, resources and learning opportunities.

We work in close partnership with our schools, ensuring that we facilitate the sharing of best practice and provide access to a wide range of partners and resources for the benefit of our students and the wider community. Visit our website here or follow us on Twitter @olympustrust.

Life at Abbeywood School Life at Abbeywood School Life at Abbeywood School Life at Abbeywood School Life at Abbeywood School Life at Abbeywood School Life at Abbeywood School Life at Abbeywood School Life at Abbeywood School Life at Abbeywood School



Governance operates at two different levels at Abbeywood Community School as it is an academy and part of The Olympus Academy Trust.

The school has its own Local Governing Body but this is accountable to and reports to the Board of Directors of the Academy Trust.

Our school is represented by two governors as Directors on the Board of the Olympus Academy Trust and some Governors also attend the Board’s sub-committees. This means Governors are directly involved in decision making at Board level, and have the opportunity to input and collaborate in all key areas that may impact our school.

Information about the Olympus Academy Trust and its Governance Structure can be found on its own website

Abbeywood Community School Local Governing Body

The Governors at Abbeywood Community School work closely with the school’s Senior Leadership Team and Staff to develop the vision and aims of the school community. They seek to raise standards and achievement through the appropriate use of all available resources.

The Governors’ responsibilities are to:

  • Provide strategic direction for the work and improvement of the school.
  • Support, monitor and evaluate the effectiveness of the school.
  • Ensure accountability for standards and quality of education in the school.

Governance is assessed by OFSTED in its Leadership and Management judgement about the school.

The Local Governing Body consists of people from a variety of backgrounds who represent different areas of the school and local community. Each governor is appointed for a four –year term with all their work being done on a voluntary basis. Currently our Governors have extensive experience in Education, Business, the Health Service and Technology.

Governors meet as a full team for at least five formal meetings during the school year but as well as being a member of the Local Governing Body, each Governor sits on at least one sub –committee which also meet at least five times a year. The two sub-committees of our Local Governing Body are the Learning and Achievement Committee and the Well-Being Committee.

As well as the commitment to attending these meetings, Governors are involved in many aspects of school life such as recruitment interviews, meetings with students and parents, lesson visits, monitoring the school improvement agenda, and meetings with staff.

Minutes of meetings are available on request by contacting Hugh Wilson, Clerk to the Local Governing Body, via the school.

The school is always keen to hear from people who may be interested in finding out more about our work or in becoming a School Governor themselves. Initial contact can be made with the Headteacher or Chair of the Local Governing Body via the school.

Currently, Abbeywood Community School’s Local Governing Body is made up of the following members:-

Parent Governors

Community Governors


Scot Butcher


Gabi Stedman-Braun

Jess Clarke

Matthew Nolan

Zoe Hill  


David Howe (Headteacher)


Rayhana Rahman

Susan Laity

Judith Waring

Isabel Marsden


Jenny Okoye

Caroline Eastes

Nicki Mead


Steve Padgett



LGB Pecuniary Interests and Terms of Office and attendance al Local Governing Body meetings